Skip over navigation
Press Releases
newsid: 183243

Laura Smulders and Liam Phillips elected onto the UCI Athletes' Commission

Laura Smulders & Liam Phillips
Laura Smulders & Liam Phillips

The Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) is pleased to announce that Laura Smulders (Netherlands) and Liam Phillips (Great Britain) have been elected to represent BMX Racing on the UCI Athletes' Commission, after a vote held during the 2017 UCI BMX World Championships, taking place this week in Rock Hill, SC, USA.

Both riders were chosen from a list of 7 candidates - 5 men and 2 women - by athletes participating in the Championships.

Laura Smulders and Liam Phillips obtained 50% and 30% of the votes respectively.

Of the athletes participating in Rock Hill, 49.64% took part in the vote.

Members of the Commission are elected for a four-year mandate running from the UCI Congress in 2017 to the Congress in 2021.

This week's election is part of the renewal of all UCI Commissions in 2017.

Laura Smulders and Liam Phillips will join Kristina Vogel (Germany) and Kenny De Ketele (Belgium), and Katerina Nash (Czech Republic) and Simon Zahner (Switzerland), respectively elected as track cycling and cyclo-cross representatives.

This year, the UCI has decided to increase the representation of its various disciplines on the UCI Athletes' Commission by modifying its electoral system.

This new voting system will see the UCI Athletes' Commission grow from 13 to 20 members, with a perfect Men/Women balance for each of the eight disciplines.

In line with the election method of the Athletes' Commission of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), which elects its members at each Olympic Games, elections of the two representatives from each discipline will take place every four years at the UCI World Championships of the relevant discipline.

The mission of the UCI Athletes' Commission is to:

  • present the UCI Management Committee with a wide-range of considerations in order
    to improve the role of athletes in all disciplines;
  • promote/improve the respect and rights of athletes across all forms of cycling and in all disciplines;
  • promote ethics and all fair play rules inherent to the practice of cycling at all levels;
  • provide a direct link with the UCI Management Committee for major events;
  • inform athletes of the range of professional training available to them during and after
    their sporting careers;
  • act as ambassadors and role models for all disciplines and at all levels.

According to the Commission's terms of reference, the President of the UCI Athletes' Commission is elected by his/her peers and is co-opted onto the UCI Management Committee, the executive body of the Federation which operates under the authority of the Congress. In addition, one representative on the Athletes' Commission from each discipline automatically becomes a member of the Commission of his/her discipline, and therefore represents the athletes on that Commission.

The renewal of the UCI Athletes' Commission, with wider representation of disciplines, comes a year after the Commission was overhauled - one of the key commitments of Brian Cookson, since taking up the UCI Presidency in 2013. 


Men  Number of votes  Percentage 
 Liam Phillips (GB) 21   30.0%
 Niek Kimmann (NED) 14  20,0%
 Donny Robinson (USA) 12  17,14%
 Tory Nyhaug (CAN) 12  17,14%
 Tyler Brown (USA) 11  15,71%
 *** Abstention ***  0  0%


Women  Number of votes  Percentage 
Laura Smulders (NED)
35  50.0% 
Stefany Hernandez (VEN)  32  45.71% 
*** Abstention ***
3 4,29% 

uci world cycling partner

uci official partners

uci official supporters